Report: Western Cape Provincial Day – Kuils River

The first Western Cape Provincial Day of 2021 was held at KuiuilsRiver Golf Club on Sunday.
The outbreak of the coronavirus pandemic in March last year led to the indefinite suspension of Provincial Days. With the wait finally over, the players teed off beneath threatening skies. The weather was the furthest thing from their minds though – everyone just enjoying being in each other’s company again.
Top spot among the disabled golfers was shared between Trevor Reich and Brett Pollard who both notched 32 stableford points. Pollard’s round – which featured matching nines of 16 points – was highlighted by no fewer than three five-pointers. Reich meanwhile overcame a somewhat sluggish start to his round to turn with 15 points to his name. Two three-pointers early on his second nine laid the foundation for a solid inward nine which saw him register a further 17 points and sign for a more than respectable tally. 
Marchello Koopman was the pick of the Deaf golfers. His 37-point haul earned him a five-point victory over Daren Hanekom and Kosie Janse Van Rensburg respectively. It’s also worth noting that Koopman’s round included four one-pointers so to ultimately shoot one better than his handicap is very impressive.  
The day would not have been possible without the help of a few fantastic supporters of the SADGA. Thank you to Western Province Nomads for sponsoring the day – the R5000 donation certainly helped make the day a resounding success. Thank you also to Western Province Golf for their continued contribution to disabled golf, we appreciate it a great deal. Finally, thank you to KuilsRiver Golf Club’s staff for being so welcoming and hospitable towards our disabled golfers and guests and for helping ensure that the day ran smoothly.
An announcement on the date and venue for the March Provincial Day will be made in due course. 
1st – Brett Pollard, Trevor Reich – 32 points
2nd – Morne Cronje – 31 points 
3rd – Lance du Toit, Simo Mdudu – 30 points
1st – Marchello Koopman – 37 points
2nd – Daren Hanekom, Kosie J.V Rensburg – 32 points
1st – Pieter Verwey – 36 points
2nd – Henry Voight – 33 points 
3rd – James Stirton – 31 points